Can I cancel a PayPal payment that I've already sent?

Note: Some hyperlinks in our articles may not work within the PayPal app.

If the payment is already completed
You cannot cancel a payment you’ve sent if its status shows “Completed” in your Activity. “Completed” means that the recipient has already received or accepted your payment. However, you can contact the recipient directly and ask for a refund, as long as you do it within 180 days of making your payment. To find their contact details, please go to the Activity page and click on the payment in question.

If you didn't make this payment, please report this unauthorised transaction in the Resolution Centre*. If there are other issues with this payment, such as not receiving the items or services you paid for, you can file a dispute and start communicating with the seller.

If the payment is still unclaimed
If the payment you’ve sent shows “Unclaimed” or “Pending”, it means that the recipient hasn’t received or accepted it. You'll be able to cancel your payment if a “Cancel” button shows up beside it on the Activity page.

From your PayPal app, here's how to cancel a pending payment:

  1. Tap See Activity.
  2. Select the payment you want to cancel.
  3. Tap Cancel Payment.

From your computer, here's how:

  1. On the Activity page, locate the pending payment.
  2. Click Cancel.
  3. On the next page click Cancel Payment.
If a payment remains unclaimed for 30 days, it'll be cancelled automatically and refunded to you.

* The Resolution Centre is not available on the PayPal app but you can access it via the PayPal website on your desktop.